Music CD Review: U2 - Boy

This is an online review of the CD Boy by U2, with CD cover, pictures, wallpapers, lyrics and where to buy it online.


CD Review: U2 - Boy

Music CD Review: U2 BoyCD Information and Notes:

- U2 are Paul "Bono Vox" Hewson (vocals); Dave "The Edge" Evans (guitar, background vocals); Adam Clayton (bass); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums).

- Boy, was recorded at Windmill Lane, Dublin, Ireland.

- "An Cat Dubh" and "Into The Heart" was originally listed as one song.

- Boy, U2's first album, announced the arrival of four young men from Dublin who would conquer the world in short order. Bono and company were barely out of their teens when they recorded their first album, and their youthful vigor lights up every track here. Full of ambition, driven by a politicized (though not yet explicitly so) sense of purpose, the songs give listeners an idea of what it's like to come of age in a strife-torn country and count on rock and roll as your means of transcendence.

- Bono's clear, strong voice rings out over the already-anthemic arrangements. Though none of the band members had yet developed much instrumental facility, their commitment and emotion are palpable in the simple-but-perfect parts they play. "I Will Follow" was Boy's calling card, unfolding with brashness and a sense of wonder as it chronicles the journey from boyhood to manhood, a trip the band had only just taken recently. BOY stands as an auspicious beginning to a long, successful career.

Prices and where to buy it online:

You can buy U2 Boy at

U2 Boy Song List:

  1. I will follow
  2. Twilight
  3. A cat dubh
  4. Into the heart
  5. Out of control
  6. Stories for boys
  7. The ocean
  8. A day without me
  9. Another time, another place
  10. The electric Co.
  11. Shadows and tall trees

U2 Boy Pictures and Wallpapers:

CD Critic Quotes and Reviews:

  • Rolling Stone (3/1/01, p.54) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...In a way that hadn't been done in popular music since the Who...Boy explored male a state of desperate searching....fashioning dense, dusky atmospheres in which unabashed yearning and insistent conviction collide and intertwine..."
  • Q (7/95, p.148) - 3 Stars - Good - "...a culmination of modern ideas amid a sea of confused contemporary directions..."
  • CMJ (1/5/04, p.8) - Ranked #10 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1981"
  • Melody Maker (6/3/95, p.36) - "...they've made three great albums, of which Boy, their eulogy to the twilight of innocence is one. It's dated badly, but that doesn't matter...I hear gobstoppers and ghost stories, magic and mischief, the sunnier moments of my childhood..."

CD Details:

  • Release Date: 10/17/1990
  • Original Release Date: 1980
  • Label : Island Records (USA)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Runtime: 42m: 15s
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Producer: Steve Lillywhite
  • Engineer: Paul Thomas

Copyright 2019 All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. Comments: e-mail us