Music CD Review: U2 - War

This is an online review of the CD War by U2, with CD cover, pictures, wallpapers, lyrics and where to buy it online.


CD Review: U2 - War

Music CD Review: U2 WarCD Information and Notes:

- U2 is Bono (vocals); The Edge (guitar, lap steel, piano, background vocals); Adam Clayton (bass); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums, percussion).

- Additional personnel: Steve Wickham (electric violin); Kenny Fradley (trumpet); Cheryl Poirier, Adriana Kaegi, Taryn Hagey, Jessica Felton (background vocals).

- Recorded at Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin, Ireland.

- War, U2's first gold album, established them as one of the great cutting edge bands in all of contemporary music.

- From the insularity and ruminative splendor of their studio work, U2 blossomed into a visceral live band capable of turning elegant webs of sound into in-your-face rock and roll. The Edge's innovative guitar work was now augmented by his piano playing (particularly on the hit single "New Year's Day"), while Bono's lyrics turned explicitly to politics for the first time ("Sunday Bloody Sunday").

Prices and where to buy it online:

You can buy U2 War at

U2 War Song List:

  1. Sunday bloody Sunday
  2. Seconds
  3. Ney Year's Day
  4. Like a song...
  5. Drowning man
  6. The refugee
  7. Two hearts beat as one
  8. Red light
  9. Surrender
  10. "40"

U2 War Pictures and Wallpapers:

CD Critic Quotes and Reviews:

  • Rolling Stone - War Ranked 40th in Rolling Stone's "100 Best Albums Of The Eighties" survey (November 1989)
  • CMJ (1/6/03, p.14) - Included in CMJ's list of "Top 25 College Radio Albums of All Time"
  • CMJ (1/5/04, p.12) - Ranked #1 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1983".

CD Details:

  • Release Date: 10/17/1990
  • Original Release Date: 1983
  • Label : Island Records (USA)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Runtime: 42m : 21s
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Producer: Steve Lillywhite; Bill Whelan
  • Engineer: Paul Thomas; Kevin Killen

Copyright 2019 All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. Comments: e-mail us